Kyushu – Hashima i Nagasaki

Poprzednio zapowiedziałem, że teraz zacznie się seria dużo ciekawszych i/lub interesujących wpisów i mam nadzieję, że wywiąże się z tego. Od razu też napiszę, że nie – nadal nie jest to opis wizyty w muzeum Bomby Atomowej w Nagasaki. Choć jest ono ważne to w okolicach Nagasaki jest coś, o czym mało kto wie, a jest na tyle ciekawe, że grzechem byłoby pominięcie tego miejsca. Zresztą moje wpisy podążają za kolejnością w jakiej zwiedzałem Kiusiu. Zatem, miłej lektury!

Previously I have mentioned that in following notes there will a lot of interesting content and I hope this note will be a good start. This time I will not write about Atomic Bomb Museum in Nagasaki, it will have to wait a little bit longer as I’m following the order in which I visited places around Kyushu. On the other hand, around Nagasaki there are things that are really worth to see and unfortunately they are not so popular as they should be. I will write about one of these places in this note so enjoy it!

przerwa techniczna

Szybki wstępniak / Organization infos

Czy wspominałem, że wyjazd do Japonii podczas Golden Weeku (praktycznie tydzień świąt państwowych) to dość konkretne wyzwanie jeśli chodzi o organizację? Nie dość, że prawie wszystko jest zarezerwowane i mam tu na myśli tylko hostele. Jednak jeśli ktoś chce zobaczyć coś nietypowego, co wymaga wzięcia udziału w zorganizowanej wycieczce to nie pozostaje mi nic innego jak tylko życzyć szczęścia. Mnie się udało bo mniej więcej na miesiąc przed wyjazdem zacząłem intensywnie szukać wycieczki na wyspę zwaną Hashimą /Gunkanjimą. Szukałem w kilku biurach podróży oferujących tą wycieczkę i uwaga, miesiąc przed zostały tylko dwa wolne miejsca w jednym biurze (reszta była już obłożona). Dwa wolne miejsca w porannym terminie jednego dnia, a sprawdzałem terminy podczas całego mojego pobytu w Nagasace (3 dni!). Makabra, ale możecie mi wierzyć – skakałem z radości jak dostałem maila z potwierdzeniem rezerwacji. Nie pozostawało mi nic innego jak tylko mieć nadzieję, ze pogoda dopisze i na szczęście w dniu wycieczki nie zawiodła!

I think I have mentioned that I was in Japan during Golden Week (almost whole week of public holidays). For this reason trying to plan your trip around that time is a real challenge. By this I mean not only booking a bed to sleep. But also, for example, if you would like to see something unusual that requires booking a tour with limited number of participants. What can I say – good luck! In my case I was able to have that kind of luck as one month prior to this trip I started to look for a tour to Hashima / Gunkanjima island. I looked in multiple travel agencies and it appeared that ONLY one of them had TWO free seats in an early tour in one day. I will just mention that I looked for free seats during my whole stay in Nagasaki, 3 days! This shows only how bad it is and why one should make booking in advance in case of going to Japan. I can write that I was so freaking happy when I received email with information that my booking was confirmed. The only one thing left for me was to pray for good weather during this trip and hopefully it was great!

Co do rezerwacji – skorzystałem z biura Gunkanjima Cruise Co., Ltd., która ma na stanie statek Black Diamond. Dodam tylko, że o dziwo jest to najtańsza oferta wycieczki (a sprawdziłem ich kilka) oraz statek jest bardzo szybki więc podwójne zwycięstwo!

About reservation – I used travel agency called Gunkanjima Cruise Co., Ltd. which uses Black Diamond speed ship. What is interesting is that their offer is the cheapest one out there. I was more than happy to go with them as their boat was so fast.

Hashima

Na godzinę przed odpłynięciem trzeba było zjawić się w biurze firmy, zapłacić za wycieczkę i złożyć podpisane oświadczenie, że bierze się odpowiedzialność za siebie. Miejsce biura nie do końca jest dobrze oznakowane to też zamieszczam poniżej zdjęcie dla potomnych, może komuś się przyda.

Just in case I came to their office one hour prior to the departure in order to pay for my tour and to give signed pledge (I signed that I will take care of myself and I will not cause any problems to anyone). It might be hard to find their office at first so if someone will see this note in the future he/she will find photo showing how their office looks like.

Wejście do biura podróży / Travel agency entrance

Wejście do biura podróży / Travel agency entrance

Mając na szyi identyfikator udałem się wprost na brzeg, gdzie musiałem jeszcze chwilę poczekać zanim załoga zaczęła wpuszczać na pokład swojej rakiety (łódź dosłownie pruła przez wodę jak rakieta :D). Kolejka za mną sukcesywnie rosła i miałem pewne obawy patrząc na wielkość łodzi oraz zakręcający się sznurek ludzi. Co ciekawe – spotkałem kilku obcokrajowców w tym parę Kanadyjczyków oraz parę Rosjan. Obsługa niestety nie mówiła po angielsku, ale mimo to była bardzo uprzejma. Z tego powodu, jeśli ktoś wybiera się na tą wyspę to zdecydowanie warto zrobić rozeznanie o co właściwie chodzi. Czekając w kolejce kapitan statku, starszy uśmiechnięty pan, zagadał do mnie i mimo, iż nie mówił po angielsku to rozumiałem co chciał mi powiedzieć. Odpowiedziałem mu po angielsku i łamaną japońszczyzną (bardzo łamaną, same słowa i nawet nie zdania). Spytał się skąd jestem i czy mówię po japońsku. Swoją drogą to nie wiem jakbym zareagował jakby ktoś na moje pytanie po polsku ‘czy mówisz po polsku?’ odpowiedział ‘nie, niestety nie mówię po polsku.’ Ot ciekawostka.

After I got my ID I went to the harbor and waited in a queue before entering the ship which looked like a rocket and indeed it was as fast as rocket :D. The queue was growing as it was closer to departure time. There was a number of foreigners in that queue – a pair from Canada or a pair from Russia and of course one guy from Poland 😉 Right before departure I was wondering about one thing – ship did not look like it could take a lot of people on its decks but queue looked like there was over 200 people in it. In the meantime and old guy who appeared to be this ship’s captain was talking with people waiting in the queue. He even asked me in Japanese where do I come from and if I speak Japanese. I answered his questions in English and in a very basic Japanese (ok, just words, not even sentences 😉 ). It was very nice from his side that he was talking with people in the queue and even with foreigners even though he was not speaking English. At this moment I wondered about one thing – if I were to ask someone in Polish ‘do you speak Polish?’ and that person answered me in Polish ‘no, I don’t speak Polish’ then I’m not sure how I would react, seriously.
Going back to Hashima – if you want to go there you need to be prepared that crew/staff won’t be speaking English so you need to do some research about that place by yourself.

Dobrze, że byłem odpowiednio wcześniej to też zająłem, jak się okazało, dobre miejsce na górnym pokładzie – idealne by zrobić 100+ zdjęć podczas dopływania do Hashimy. Zatem, jak macie okazję to próbujcie celować w miejsce przy prawej burcie.

I was really happy that I arrived early as I was able to get a good place to seat on the upper deck of Black Diamond ship. My seat was so good that I was able to take more than 100 photos on our way to the island. So if you are going there you should take seat on the right side of the ship.

Po tym jak statek ruszył kapitan zaczął opowiadać o historii miasta i portu (po japońsku) co chwila wskazując w różne miejsca. Po drodze były dwa postoje gdyż można było zabrać się na wycieczkę z innych miejscowości. Ludzie siedzieli i czekali na znak od kapitana, że się zbliżam do wyspy jednak moje sokole oko z odpowiednim wyprzedzeniem wypatrzyło w oddali cel podróży. Prawdopodobnie ludzie dookoła mnie byli bardzo zdziwieni jak zmieniłem obiektyw, wstałem i zacząłem tłuc zdjęcia 😀 Dobra miejscówka to podstawa!

After our departure captain started talking about things in Nagasaki harbor – places and theirs history. Unfortunately everything was in Japanese but still it was interesting to see people changing direction in which they were looking as captain was speaking. Before we arrived on the Hashima island there were two stops as one can join tour from other cities/islands. Everyone was sitting on their seat and was waiting for signal from captain that we are getting close to the island. Everyone apart form one small exception (ok, not so small 😉 ). My eagle-like eyes were able to see the island long before others. Probably people around me were wondering why I’m changing lens in my camera and I bet they were surprised when I stood up and started taking photos 😀 Remember, good seat is damn important!

Hashima. Krótki wstęp poświęcony tej wyspie – pierwotnie w XIX wieku odkryto na niej węgiel i od tego czasu rozpoczęło się jego wydobycie. Pod koniec XIX wieku wyspa została wykupiona przez Mitsubishi i zaczęto stosować nowoczesne jak na tamte czasy metody wydobycia tego surowca, wprost z zachodu. Wyspa się rozrastała, ludzi przybywało i to właśnie tam powstał pierwszy w Japonii blok mieszkalny wykonany z betonu. Miało to miejsce na początku XX wieku. Jednak z czasem węgiel stracił na znaczeniu na rzecz ropy to też w 1974 podjęto decyzję o zamknięciu kopalni w wyniku czego w tym samym roku wyspa została całkowicie opuszczona. Wyspa pozostawała wyludniona aż do 2009 roku kiedy to podjęto decyzję o otwarciu jej dla turystów. I tak oto wylądowałem na niej, a dowiedziałem się o niej ze mojej ulubionej strony, z której nagminnie korzystam podczas planowania wyjazdów do Japonii – Japan-Guide.

Hashima. A short introduction the island’s history – initially in XIX century coal was discovered on this island and this marked the beginning of island’s coal mines. Around the end of XIX century whole island was bought by Mitsubishi which introduced state of art methods of collecting coal in mines. The island itself started to grow as more and more people started to live there. At the beginning of XX century the first concrete block of flats in Japan was built there. Unfortunately industry started to move from coal-based to oil-based energy and in 1974 decision was made. Coal mine on Hashima will be closed and that year everyone left Hashima. Almost 40 years later it was reopened for tourists. I learnt about this place from my favorite page that I use every time I’m planning my trips to Japan – Japan-Guide.

O samej wyspie napiszę tylko, że było strasznie gorąco (pogoda dopisała). Budynki na wyspie, pozbawione konserwacji przez blisko 40 lat, są w opłakanym stanie i grożą zawaleniu przez co zwiedzający mogą poruszać się tylko po wyznaczonych ścieżkach. Znajdują się one w zachodniej części wyspy, z dala od budynków (jak dobrze, że mam odpowiedni obiektyw :D). I jak wspomniałem wcześniej – wycieczek na wyspę jest sporo. Po około 30-40 minutach zwiedzania odbiliśmy od brzegu i chwilę później podpłynął do niej kolejny statek z turystami. Jak widać wyspa cieszy się dużą popularnością wśród Japończyków.

As for my trip – it was really hot so the weather was good. All building on the island, left without any checking / fixing for almost 40 years, are currently in a bad shape and they can collapse anytime. For this reason you can only walk along safe paths in western part of the island – far away from any building. It was good that I had proper lens with me so it was not a problem for me to take close-up photos. We spent on island about 30-40 minutes. As we departed from Hashima I saw next ship waiting for us to leave so next group of tourists could see this island.

Wrażenia? Organizacja – pierwsza klasa, wszystko bardzo sprawnie i pod kontrolą. Obsługa co chwila zliczała ludzi za pomocą mechanicznych liczników. Wrażenia z wyspy? Trudno opisać słowami, na pewno przytłaczające zwłaszcza jak nieco się poczyta o historii oraz o tym, jak dużo osób zginęło pod ziemią. Jedno jest pewne – być w Nagasace i nie być na tej wyspie to błąd. Duży błąd. Naprawdę warto to zobaczyć! Dodam tylko, że dwa dni po tym jak tam byłem UNESCO podjęło decyzję, że Hashima stanie się miejscem światowego dziedzictwa.

My impression? From organization side – top notch, everything went smoothly without any issues and was all the time under control as crew was counting people with these mechanic small watch-like counting things. How about island? It’s hard to describe it with words. It might be depressing if you have done research and you are aware of its history and how many people died there. One thing I can write for sure – being in Nagasaki and not seeing this island is a mistake. A big mistake. It’s really worth to go there and see it. Two days after I was there UNESCO announced that it will register Hashima as Cultural World Heritage site.

Dejima

Po tym jak wróciłem na stały ląd z naprawdę ciekawej wycieczki udałem się wprost w stronę Dejimy. Dla niewtajemniczonych, Dejima to nazwa sztucznej wyspy, która podczas izolacji Japonii od reszty świata była jedynym miejscem, w którym mogli przebywać obcokrajowcy. Początkowo byli tam Hiszpanie. Jednak zostali oni wyrzuceni ze względu na to, iż skupiali się głównie na nawracaniu na religię katolicką co nie było pomyśli szogunatu. Ich miejsce zajęli Holendrzy, którzy zajmowali się tylko handlem.

As my foot stepped on solid land I went in direction of next attraction on my list. Dejima – in the past it was an artificial island which was created for foreigners to stay on it during period of time in Japanese history when it was isolating itself from the rest of the world. At the beginning it was Spaniards who were staying there but they were too focused on introduction catholic religion which was against Shogunat. As a result they were thrown away. After them the Dutch came and they were only making business as Dejima become the official gate to the rest of the world for Japan.

Dawno temu była to sztuczna wyspa otoczona wodą jednak podczas epoki Meiji port w Nagasace został zmodyfikowany na tyle, że wyspa stała się fragmentem stałego lądu. Jednak w tej chwili trwają prace mające na celu przywrócenie oryginalnego kształtu. Co do samej zawartości muzeum to na pewno warto tam pójść i przeczytać wszystkie opisy bo jest tam sporo historii, której np. ja niemiałem okazji poznać w szkole. Czyli ogólnie – na plus!

In the past Dejima was an artificial island in Nagasaki’s port but during Meiji’s restoration, Nagasaki’s port went through a number of changes so in present days Dejima is surrounded by land. Fortunately there is an undergoing project that will make Dejima once again an island. Ok – but what was in that museum? There a few western styled buildings and a lot of interesting information to read. It’s not big but still interesting so it’s worth to go there.

Duński stok i Świątynia Konfucjusza / Dutch slope & Confucius temple

By dostać się z Dejimy na Duński stok musiałem przejść przez chińską dzielnicę, która nie powalała wielkością. Za to było w niej pełno restauracji i nie będę ukrywał, ale nie mogłem sobie odmówić wspomnianej wcześniej bułki z kawałkiem mięsa 😉 Zatem z bułką w ręku przeszedłem przez chińską ulicę i udałem się do kolejnego miejsca, które okazało się być… po prostu ulicą z zachodnimi budynkami. Tak – mam na myśli Duńskie zbocze. Przeszedłem, zrobiłem zdjęcia i tu małe zdziwienie bo na jednym z budynków wisiała polska i koreańska flaga. Czemu? Nie wiem. Tak czy owak udałem się w stronę Świątyni Konfucjusza.

To get from Dejima to Dutch slope I had to went through Nagasaki’s China town which was… small. There was a lot of restaurants and it was really tempting to enter one of them but in the end I just allowed myself to buy something small to eat. For example, let’s say, bun with pork’s belly 😉 After that I arrived in front of Dutch slope which was just a slope with a number of western buildings. I took some photos but there was nothing special for me. Ok – there was one thing, on one of these buildings I saw two flags, one was Polish and another one was Korean. Why? I have no idea. I just moved to the next attraction on my list which was really close to Dutch slope.

I tu się zaczęło. Choć z zewnątrz świątynia nie powala to jednak to co znajduje się w środku to zupełnie inna historia. Ale to za chwilę bo najpierw krótki wstęp. Otóż jest to jedyna świątynia Konfucjusza poza terytorium Chin, która została zbudowana przez Chińczyków i realnie teren świątyni należy do Chińskiej Republiki Ludowej (tak przynajmniej było zapisane w ulotce, którą dostałem wraz z biletem). Kolory dachów były fantastyczne i wraz z licznymi posągami jestem niemal pewien, że zrobiłyby wrażenie na każdym zwiedzających. Główny budynek świątyni jest dość mały – nie mam z niego zdjęć bo nie byłem do końca pewien czy można robić zdjęcia. Do tego w środku było ciemno zaś na zewnątrz słońce wypalało oczy. Póki co nie potrafię robić zdjęć w takich warunkach więc nic by z tego nie wyszło.

I thought that after seeing Hashima there won’t be anything special to see that day. I was wrong. Even if Confucius temple did not look so good from outside, everything that was inside was great. I will return to this right after a short introduction. According to leaflet I got at the entrance this is the only Confucius temple in the word outside China which was built by Chinese. What is even more interesting is that temple’s grounds belong to People Republic of China. I was amazed by colors of roofs and together with a large number of sculptures on temple’s grounds I’m sure it would leave impact on anyone who see all of this. There was one weird thing – the main building of this temple was surprisingly small. I don’t have photos as I was not sure if it was ok to take them. Also it was dark inside while outside sun was almost burning everything to ashes. I still don’t have skills needed to take photo in that kind of environment.

No dobrze, ale to nie wszystko bo za świątynią znajduje się Muzeum Historii Chin, w którym był bezwzględny zakaz robienia zdjęć. Szkoda, bo to co tam widziałem powodował po prostu opad szczęki. Na wejściu na pierwszym piętrze zobaczyłem wielki cios słonia z wyrytą na nim jakąś historią (niestety nie było tam opisów po angielsku), ale to co mnie oczarowało to cuda jakie ludzie są wstanie zrobić mając do dyspozycji kawałek jadeitu i dłuto. Jestem pełen podziwu, szacunku i respektu dla rzemieślników czy też już artystów – ja na pewno tak nie potrafię a te misternie wykonane miniatury pawilonów, liście na drzewach czy bogato ozdobiona kula wewnątrz filigranowej klatki. Po prostu cuda.

Good news – temple itself was not the only thing to see because behind it there was quite a big building with Museum of China’s History. Unfortunately it was prohibited to take photos of that what was inside. You can trusty me – there was a lot of interesting things. Right after entering the first floor I saw big sculpture made of ivory with some story on it (there was no English description) but this was not the thing that totally amazed me. Further, in other part of the same room I saw a number of delicate sculptures made of jade. I’m just amazed what people can do with piece of jade and small chisel and I am full of respect for those who made these small pieces of art. It’s obvious to me that I cannot pull something like this: small leaves on trees, delicate carvings on buildings or rich carvings on a ball inside of cage made of the same material. That was just so beautiful.


Galeria – świątynia konfucjusza

Tak oto minął dzień – nieźle, wszystko się podobało. Zatem na zakończenie trzeba było coś zjeść. Zgodnie z rekomendacją obsługi hostelu udałem się do pobliskiej restauracji na Champona. Standardowo poniżej znajduje się jego zdjęcie 😀

And that day came to the end – so far so good. Everything was interesting and to have a good ending I had to hunt something tasty to eat. I followed hostel’s staff recommendation and I went to nearby restaurant where I ordered Champon. Below you may see photo of it 😀

Champon! / Champon!

Champon! / Champon!

~ by drzejan on May 19, 2015.

3 Responses to “Kyushu – Hashima i Nagasaki”

  1. […] bezpośrednio mnie nie dotyczy. Kręcąc się po Nagasaki, konkretniej w dniu, gdy zwiedziłem Hashimę , chciałem dotrzeć w miejsce gdzie znajduje się kamienna brama Tori, ta która straciła jedną […]

  2. za przeproszeniem, ale stok ci mutuje. jest raz duński (z rozpędu, jak sądzę), a raz olęderski (jakim jest w rzeczywistości).
    wogle, cośmy się dowiedzieliśmy przypadkiem jak teraz wpisaliśmy żartobliwy przymiotnik “olęderski” w gugle: http://pl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ol%C4%99drzy

    • Stok mutuje zgodnie z tym jak mutował Japończykom – na początku był ‘Dutch slope’ jednak miejscami pojawiały się tabliczki informacyjne z ‘Danish slope’.

      Ciekawostka fajna, nie wiedziałem o tym.

Comments are closed.

 
